Being charged with DUI in any situation is serious enough. If it involves causing an accident and injuries to another person, the problems you face will escalate.
With a DUI causing injuries in Orange County, potential penalties for a conviction may include sentencing enhancements that extend the amount of jail time and make a plea bargain less likely.
The prosecution is likely to push for the harshest possible penalties. However, that does not mean that all hope is lost.
At The Law Offices of Bryan R. Kazarian, we believe that even if the evidence against you seems overwhelming, you may be able to escape the most serious consequences with our experienced Orange County DUI lawyers.
We are ready to defend you or a loved one against a charge of DUI causing injuries.
DUI causing injuries is a specific category of DUI charge that is set out in California’s VC 23153.
This charge is applied where bodily injury to another person (driver, pedestrian, or another road user) results from the actions of the DUI defendant.
Note that you can be convicted on a charge of DUI with injuries even if your blood alcohol concentration (BAC) was below the legal limit and the other party (or parties) only suffered minor injuries.
When an accident occurs on the roads in Orange County, the police are usually notified. If bodily injury occurs, law enforcement must be called and this is where an investigation into the traffic collision generally begins.
If a police officer believes that one of the drivers may be intoxicated, there may be probable cause to arrest the individual. The police officer may also request field sobriety tests and/or a blood alcohol test to determine the driver’s BAC level.
If the officer determines that an arrest is warranted, the individual will be arrested and booked at the local police station in Orange County.
Refusal to submit to a chemical test of either your blood or breath after your arrest may lead to additional penalties for an alleged DUI offense.
Once bail is paid, the individual will be released on the condition that they appear at future court proceedings. The arrested individual usually receives a temporary license which remains valid for 30 days.
The California DMV may suspend a driver’s license separately from the criminal proceedings. A DMV hearing can be requested up to 10 days after an arrest to challenge the validity of the suspension by way of a DMV Administrative Per Se Hearing.