Driving on Suspended License Attorney in Orange County

Under California Vehicle Code 14601 et al, it is illegal to knowingly drive on a license that is suspended or revoked. Driving while suspended/revoked (a criminal offense) is different from the less serious offense of driving without a license (California Vehicle Code Section 12500), which can be charged as a non-criminal offense and carries less severe penalties.

The severity of the penalties you will receive if convicted of driving while suspended/revoked will largely depend on the reason your license was suspended to begin with. If your license was suspended because, for example, you failed to appear for a summons or to pay a traffic ticket, it is a less serious crime.

On the other hand, if your license was suspended as a result of a DUI conviction, or because you are found by the California DMV to be a reckless or negligent operator, then a charge of driving while suspended/revoked is a much more serious offense, involving mandatory minimum jail sentences.

What’s more, driving while suspended/revoked is a “priorable” offense, meaning that the penalties are more severe for each subsequent conviction under California Vehicle Code 14601.

The Penalties If Convicted of Driving while Suspended/Revoked in California

The potential penalties for the most common violations of California Vehicle Code 14601 are as follows:

License Suspended For Driving while Suspended/Revoked (14601.1)

  • A first conviction: Up to 3 years of probation; Up to 6 months in jail; and/or $300 – $1000 in fines
  • A second conviction: Up to 3 years of probation; Up to 1 year in jail; and/or $500 – $1000 in fines

License Suspended For Reckless, Negligent, or Incompetent Driving (Section 14601)

  • A first conviction: Up to 3 years of probation; A minimum of 5 days and up to 6 months in jail; and/or $300-$1000 in fines
  • A second conviction within 5 years: Up to 3 years of probation, A minimum of 10 days and up to 1 year in jail; and/or $500-$1000 in fines

License Suspended For Driving Under the Influence of Alcohol or Drugs (Section 14601.2)

  • A first conviction: Up to 3 years probation; A minimum of 10 days and up to 6 months in jail; and/or $300 – $1000 in fines; Installation of a certified ignition interlock device on your vehicle
  • A second conviction within 5 years: Up to 3 years of probation; A minimum of 30 days and up to 1 year in jail; and/or $500 – $2000 in fines

License Suspended For Refusing to Submit to a Chemical Test or Driving With an Unlawful Blood Alcohol (Section 14601.5)

  • A first conviction: Up to 3 years probation; A minimum of 10 days and up to 6 months in jail; $300 – $1000 in fines; and/or; Installation of a certified ignition interlock device on your vehicle
  • A second conviction within 5 years: Up to 3 years probation; A minimum of 30 days and up to 1 year in jail; and/or; $500 – $2000 in fines

Defending a Charge for Driving While Suspended/Revoked

In order to be convicted of driving while suspended/revoked, the state has to prove that you knew that your license was suspended or revoked and were, therefore, not permitted to drive. Thus, one of the most frequently used defenses to a driving while suspended/revoked charge is that you didn’t know that your license was suspended or revoked.

Perhaps you didn’t receive the notice in the mail, or it was sent to an old address. Perhaps you were never told by the police or a judge that your license was suspended or revoked. In these cases, you can assert a lack of knowledge to prevent yourself from being convicted.

Another common defense to a driving while suspended/revoked charge is that the suspension itself was invalid. Perhaps you actually paid the traffic ticket. Perhaps your license should have been renewed, but the DMV forgot to renew it. If you can show that the underlying suspension was invalid, the charge will most likely be dismissed.

Another way we can defend a driving while suspended/revoked charge is by showing that the police officer did not have reasonable suspicion  to stop you in the first place. If the officer did not have reasonable suspicion to stop you, a motion to suppress can be filed with the court. If the judge grants this motion, the charge will usually be dismissed.

Contact The Law Offices of Bryan R. Kazarian

To put it simply, driving while suspended/revoked is a charge that a lot of innocent people are wrongly accused of. Fortunately for many, our law firm has a great record of success when it comes to getting these charges reduced or dismissed. If you have been charged with driving while suspended/revoked in California, call The Law Offices of Bryan R. Kazarian at 24/7 (855) 918-4253 to consult with an experienced California criminal defense lawyer and to find out what we can do to help you avoid a conviction.

Driving on Suspended License Attorney Orange County

CHARGED WITH A CRIME?

Start Here!

When you are charged with a crime, you need to feel comfortable with your attorney.  At the law offices of Bryan R. Kazarian, we offer a free consultation so that you can understand your rights and the charges against you before deciding to hire us to defend you.

CITATION / ARREST
POLICE INVESTIGATION
Orange County Criminal Lawyers

Drug Charges

View Successful Cases

DUI Charges

View Successful Cases

Theft Charges

View Successful Cases

Violence Charges

View Successful Cases

Fraud Charges

View Successful Cases

Driving Charges

View Successful Cases

EXPERIENCED. AGGRESSIVE. CAPABLE.

What Makes Our Firm Different

The criminal defense attorney you hire to represent you is one of the most important decisions you will make.

Here are the values that guide our services:

  • Experienced: Our firm has over 16 years of experience, so you can feel confident you will receive quality legal counsel.
  • Client-Centered: We put our clients first. Drawing on that belief, and our knowledge of criminal law, we find solutions that best meet our clients’ individual needs.
  • Superior Results: Regardless the legal matter, we work tirelessly to achieve exceptional outcomes for our clients.
  • Trusted Advice: To guide you through this difficult time in your life, we provide sophisticated legal advice you can trust.
orange-county-criminal-defense-attorney

16+ YEARS OF EXPERIENCE

Criminal Defense Practice Areas

Arson

Assault

Battery

Domestic Violence

DUI

Drug Crimes

Public Intoxication

Theft

Vandalism

View All Services

“Bryan is a miracle worker, his reputation goes beyond making slim to nothing chances, almost impossible… Possible. I highly recommend Bryan for any obstacle or unfortunate bind you get yourself into. You won’t regret it…”

TUONG VY L.

“I wouldn’t be able to see these beautiful surroundings that I am experiencing now if I did not have my freedom, I owe that to you Mr. Kazarian and for that I am eternally grateful.”

M.L.

“Bryan helped me navigate a tough case, and got me the best deal we could manage all while avoiding a bunch of headache and any jail time.”

RYAN T.

View More Testimonials

GAIN VALUABLE INSIGHTS

Resources and Articles

WE’RE AVAILABLE 24 HOURS A DAY, 7 DAYS A WEEK

Get a Free Consultation