For the vast majority of criminal charges, if a person pleads guilty or is convicted, they will be granted Probation. As a term of probation, in cases such as DUI (CVC 23152), Domestic Violence (CPC 273), and many others, Defendants are often ordered to complete Classes or Programs that relate directly to the crime or crimes to which they have been convicted.
Your first DUI in California
If you are convicted of your first DUI in the State of California, you will be required to complete some amount of Alcohol Education. Most of the time, this means the 3 Month First Offender Alcohol Program, also known as AB541. This program usually takes about 12 weeks to complete and requires you to attend weekly meetings.
If your BAC is at 0.15%+
While this is usually the only alcohol education you are required to complete for a first DUI, allegations of a higher blood alcohol content can result in a more severe penalty. If you are found to have a blood-alcohol percentage (BAC) of 0.15% or more, you may need to complete a 6-month class.
If your BAC is at 0.20%+
If your BAC is at 0.20% or more, you may even be required to complete the AB-1353 program, which is 9 months long!
If you have been convicted of a DUI in the past
The requirements get even more severe if you’ve been convicted of another DUI before, as you will likely be required to complete the SB38 program, which is 18 months in length.
It’s important to know your rights and the potential consequences whenever charged with a crime. If you’ve been cited or arrested for a DUI or any other criminal offense, don’t wait. Speak with an Attorney at The Law Offices of Bryan R. Kazarian today.